UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Nepal | List of World Heritage Sites

There are many places in Nepal for visiting and traveling but especially old and some famous places of Nepal have been identifying as the World Heritage Sites by UNESCO as belongs to the people of the world. Nepal has four properties identified by UNESCO as world heritage sites they are listed as two cultural and two natural sites.

  1. Kathmandu Valley (cultural)
  2. Lumbini (Cultural)
  3. Sagarmatha National Park (Natural)
  4. Chitwan National Park (Natural)

UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Nepal

  1. Kathmandu Valley

Kathmandu is the capital city of Nepal. Kathmandu is listed in world sites by UNESCO as cultural. In Kathmandu there are seven temples as world heritage sites.

  • Pashupati Nath Temple

This temple is known as the temple of lord Shiva which is the important god of Hindus which is located on the banks of river Bagmati.

  • Boudhanath

It is one of the largest stupas in the world which is located in northeastern outskirts of Kathmandu.

  • Swayambhunath

It is known as the monkey temple located at top of hill in the west of Kathmandu valley. In this stupa, we can see the brotherhood of Hindu and Buddhist religions.

  • Kathmandu Durbar Square

This place is the past kingdom of the Malla and Shah King of Kathmandu who ruled over this city. This place is also denoted as the living god places. This place is also known as Hanuman Dhoka Durbar square named after Hanuman the devotee of god Lord Ram.

  • Patan Durbar Square

It is the architectural heritage sites situated at Lalitpur city at the center. There are many idols and temples in this area at the opposite of the western face of the place.

Check also: When is The Best Time to Go Nepal?

  • Bhaktapur Durbar Square

it is also world heritage sites situated at the current town of Bhaktapur which lies 13 km east of the Kathmandu city. It is also known as the way back to culture.

  • Changu Narayan

This temple is on the top of the hill at the end of the eastern valley in the village named as Changunarayan which is an old ancient Hindu temple where Nepal history starts.

  1. Lumbini

This cultural place is the birth places of Lord Gautam Buddha who starts peace in the world. In 1997 this places is told as world heritage sites by UNESCO. In this place, there are many monasteries made by many countries in their different structure. These historical places occupied 4.8 km length and 1.6 km width.

  1. Sagarmatha National Park

Sagarmatha national park is named after the highest mountains Sagarmatha which high is 8848 meter from the sea level. So, it is also listed in world heritage sites by UNESCO.

  1. Chitwan National Park

Chitwan National Park is the first national park of Nepal which is established in 1973 and become world heritage sites in 1984 by UNESCO. It covers the area of 932 square kilometers in Chitwan, Makwanpur, Parsa, and Nawalparasi districts of provision no 3. It is one of the famous tourist destinations which are located in south central Nepal in sub tropical inner Terai lowlands.

Check also: Visit Nepal: 15 Best Natural Beautiful Places to Visit Nepal

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.